The Church and Convent of St. Monica were built by Archbishop Dom Frei Alexio de Menezes. The construction of the church begun in the year 1606 and was completed in 1627. Built on the architectural structure of three storeys, the church can house 100 nuns. Earlier the church was known for offering shelter to widows and destitute women. A strange custom of baptism was followed in the Church during its past. The turntable at the entrance was used for dropping children and after that the bell was rung by the person who bought the child. On hearing the bell, the Rodeira turned the table and took the child in for converting the child as per baptism. In the recent past, the custom has been stopped and the church has been completely transformed into a nunnery, but it is open for travellers.