Church of Lady of Belem, a Parish church, is located around 23 km from Bambolim in the small village of Tiswadi or llhas Taluka. The Feast of Lady of Belem which is organised on the first Sunday of January is the major attraction of this church. Earlier, an old church was constructed at this site which was called 'Orte de Vigar' or Padigaracho Dongor. Legend states that, in 1616, Augustinian Archbishop Dom Frei Alexio de Menezes segregated the Bambolim and the Siridao Parish and constructed a new church. Owing to the presence of a tunnel under the church structure, it survived for two and a half years. In 1851, a chapel was constructed by Comunidade of Bambolim, which was later converted into a church in 1825 and given the name 'Our Lady of Belem'.