Thazhathangady Juma Masjid, also known as the Taj Juma Masjid, is located on the banks of the Meenachil River. The foundation of the shrine was laid by the members of the Jama-Athe in 1959 and was completed in 1964. Renowned for its wood carvings and beautiful architecture, the mosque was the abode of Muslims who arrived in Kottayam from different parts of Kerala. Since 1947, the residents of the mosque follow the Hanafi tradition, under the guidance of the Kottayam Settu Masjid. The mosque was dedicated to the residents of the area by Haji Abdul Karim Sahib, the first President of the Jama-Athe. It was maintained by Alhaj P. P. Ahmed Alim Sahib, who was also the Imam from 1964 to 1993.