Palakkad Fort, also known as Tipu's Fort among the natives, was constructed by Haider Ali in 1766. This old granite fort located near the centre of Palakkad Town is presently operational as a Taluk Office. The fort is spread over an area of around 60702.84 sq m and is known for its architecture that displays the workmanship of French engineers. Palakkad Achchan, local ruler till the beginning of the 18th century, ruled over this fort for a long time. In 1757, he sent his soldiers to Haider Ali to seek help against an invasion threat by the Zamorins. However, Haider Ali strategically conquered the fort himself and ruled over it till 1790. The large ground between the fort and the Palakkad Town Hall, popularly known as the Kota Maidanam, served as a stable for elephants and horses of Tipu Sultan's army. The garden is presently used for hosting exhibitions, public meetings, competitions and cricket matches. The Rappadi or the open air auditorium in the fort has been preserved by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI). This square shaped fort is supported by walls and bastions that are located in the four corners. Earlier a draw bridge was used as the main entrance for the fort. This draw bridge has now been replaced by a strong and permanent bridge. The fort also houses a Hanuman Temple, a sub-jail and a martyr's column. The Jainmedu Temple, Kumarapuram Temple, Manapullivaku and Vadakkanthara Temple lie in the vicinity of the fort.
Palakkad-Koduvayur-Thathamangalam-Meenakshipuram Highway, Kenathuparambu, Kunathurmedu, Palakkad, Kerala 678001, India